How many historic stone windmill towers are on St. John? Where are they located? What was their purpose?

There are five windmills on the island. They are located on the estates of Denis Bay, Annaberg, Susannaberg, Catherineberg and Carolina in Coral Bay. Their purpose was to crush the sugar cane stalks in order to extract the juice for processing into brown sugar, molasses and rum.

St. John Historical Society